2. That a certificate of honorable dismissal from the first school be a requirement for admittance to a second school.

3. When above conditions are complied with it is optional on the part of the second school whether a student be admitted.

4. That \$200 per annum, beginning January 1, 1922, be appropriated for the support of the Conference Section in the JOURNAL OF THE AMERICAN PHARMACEUTICAL ASSOCIATION.

5. That the length of the school year be increased from a minimum of 25 weeks to 30 weeks.

The report of the Pharmaceutical Syllabus Committee was received. Chairman Theodore J. Bradley stated that the new edition of the Syllabus will appear in a few weeks and directed attention to the fact that the Syllabus "should not, and does not pretend to say that anyone must follow it. It is suggestive and tries to be helpful but is not in any way obligatory."

A dinner was given by the Conference in honor of Dr. H. H. Rusby and following the dinner Dr. Rusby told some of his personal experiences on his South American trip. At this same session Dr. Caswell A. Mayo gave an illustrated lecture on the physical plants of the schools holding membership in the Conference.

Reports of standing committees were received as follows:

Committee on Faculties, C. E. Caspari, Chairman.

Committee on Curriculum and Teaching Methods, W. J. Teeters, Chairman.

Committee on Activities of Students and Alumni, Zada M. Cooper, Chairman.

Committee on Uniform College Bulletins, J. A. Koch, Chairman.

Committee on Relations of Pharmacy Schools with Other Professional Schools, L. S. Blake, Chairman.

Committee on Relations of the Colleges with the Boards, Jacob Diner, Chairman.

Committee on Examination Questions, G. C. Diekman, Chairman.

Committee on Research, Albert Schneider, Chairman.

Reports of the following special committees were received:

Committee to Prepare and Distribute Information on Prerequisite Legislation, W. B. Day, Chairman.

Committee to Urge that the Carnegie Foundation Investigate the Pharmacy Schools of the United States, W. F. Rudd, Chairman.

At the third session the Honorable Newton D. Baker addressed the Conference, telling something of the educational work undertaken for our army after the armistice. In closing he urged that pharmaceutical faculties recognize the dignity of their relation to all education.

The following papers were presented: "Dispensary and Hospital Teaching in the Medical College of Virginia," by W. G. Crockett; "The Hospital Dispensary and the College of Pharmacy," by W. J. Teeters; and "The Service Features of a College of Pharmacy Library," by H. V. Arny. At the second session, Edward Kremers gave a talk on "A Pharmaceutical Apprenticeship—a Possible Renaissance," and another at the third session, on "How We Get Our Students to Use the General University Library."

The following officers were elected for the ensuing year:

President: Charles H. LaWall, Philadelphia, Pa.

Vice-President: Charles H. Stocking, Ann Arbor, Mich.

Secretary-Treasurer: Zada M. Cooper, Iowa City, Ia.

*Executive Committee*: Rufus A. Lyman, Lincoln, Nebr., *Chairman:* Wortley F. Rudd, Richmond, Va.; Julius A. Koch, Pittsburgh, Pa.; Wilber J. Teeters, Iowa City, Ia.; Charles B. Jordan, Lafayette, Ind.

Members of Syllabus Committee: Theodore J. Bradley, Boston, Mass.

Representative to National Drug Trade Conference: Evander F. Kelly, Baltimore, Md.

Submitted by ZADA M. COOPER, Secretary-Treasurer.

REPORT OF THE COMMITTEE ON PHARMACEUTICAL SYLLABUS.\* To the American Pharmaceutical Association:

The Syllabus Committee respectfully submits the following report for 1921-1922.

\* This report is made to coöperating organizations. The report to the Association was approved, referred to Council, and contribution continued.

It is with great satisfaction that we can announce the completion of the work of revision and that the new edition of the Pharmaceutical Syllabus is to appear within a few weeks. The difficulties encountered in doing this work, during the war and reconstruction periods, have been great and the committee hopes it has been able to prepare an edition that will show many improvements over its predecessors, though we realize that the work is still far from what we are striving for and what we expect will gradually be attained as the successive editions appear.

The Syllabus is in no sense a profit-making enterprise. In fact, one of the chief difficulties in producing it is the lack of funds for necessary expenses. The committee, however, has tried very hard to manage so that the work shall be as nearly self-supporting as possible and to be clear of debt after the new edition is issued and distributed. Your organization contributes twenty-five dollars per year towards the expenses of the work and it is recommended and requested that this contribution be continued.

For purposes of record the present membership of the Committee is given here.

From the American Pharmaceutical Association—George M. Beringer, Camden, N. J.; Henry H. Rusby, New York, N. Y.; Willis G. Gregory, Buffalo, N. Y.; William H. Rudder, Salem, Ind.; Edwin L. Newcomb, Minneapolis, Minn.; Eugene G. Eberle, Philadelphia, Pa.; E. F. Kelly, Baltimore, Md.

From the American Conference of Pharmaceutical Faculties—Theodore J. Bradley, Boston, Mass.; Clyde M. Snow, Chicago, Ill.; Albert M. Bolenbaugh, Richmond, Va.; Edsel A. Ruddiman, St. Louis, Mo.; E. Fullerton Cook, Philadelphia, Pa.; William C. Anderson, Brooklyn, N. Y.; Julius A. Koch, Pittsburgh, Pa.

From the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy—Charles S. Koon, Muskegon, Mich.; W. R. Montgomery, Butte, Mont.; Otto W. Osterlund, Philadelphia, Pa.; Warren E. Scott, Oakdale, La.; George C. Diekman, New York, N. Y.; Samuel A. Williams, Troy, Ala.; John Culley, Ogden, Utah.

(Signed) THEODORE J. BRADLEY, Chairman.



CHARLES H. LAWALL, President, A. C. P. F.



ZADA M. COOPER, Secretary-Treasurer, A. C. P. F.